For Researchers

For Researchers

To facilitate close coordination and cooperation between groups involved in soybean disease research, seven research coalitions have been assembled to cover the major diseases and pests of soybean in the region. The teams are comprised of plant pathologists, soybean breeders, and agronomists from midwestern universities.

Research Team Team Leader Affiliation Email
Soybean Aphids and Insect Pests Kelley Tilmon Ohio State University tilmon.1@osu.edu
Brown Stem Rot Dean Malvick University of Minnesota dmalvick@umn.edu
Iron Deficiency Chlorosis Phillip McClean North Dakota State University phillip.mcclean@ndsu.edu
Phytophthora Root and Stem Rot Anne Dorrance Ohio State University dorrance.1@osu.edu
Soybean Cyst Nematode Greg Tylka
Jason Bond
Iowa State University
Southern Illinois University
gltylka@iastate.edu
jbond@siu.edu
Sudden Death Syndrome Daren Mueller
Leonor Leandro
Iowa State University dsmuelle@iastate.edu
lleandro@iastate.edu
Soybean Seedling Diseases Jason Bond Southern Illinois University jbond@siu.edu
White Mold (Sclerotinia Stem Rot) Mehdi Kabbage
Damon Smith
University of Wisconsin-Madison kabbage@wisc.edu
damon.smith@wisc.edu
New and Emerging Soybean Diseases Kiersten Wise
Daren Mueller
University of Kentucky
Iowa State University
Kiersten.Wise@uky.edu
dsmuelle@iastate.edu
Charcoal Rot Kiersten Wise University of Kentucky Kiersten.Wise@uky.edu
Soybean Breeding for Disease Resistance Brian Diers University of Illinois bdiers@illinois.edu
Soybean Viruses Damon Smith University of Wisconsin damon.smith@wisc.edu
close

Soybean Diseases

close

Soybean Pests